top of page
  • Jenny Hansen

10 FAQs of Family Portraits

Updated: Jan 13, 2021


Once you decide to schedule a session, many other questions arise. Planning your family portrait session doesn't have to be intimidating. Should you have other questions that aren't answered here, you can always email me. I would gladly provide you with further consultation. I am always guilty of having a bazillion questions once I set something up.



Are you ready for some info? Here you go!

  1. MAY WE BRING PROPS TO OUR SESSION? Props can add interest and personality to your photos. If you would like to include props, please let me know ahead of time so I can plan accordingly.

  2. HOW LONG DO SESSIONS LAST? Session time varies depending on the package you select. Mini sessions are approx. 15-20 minutes while regular sessions span average about an hour.

  3. WILL YOU SUGGEST A LOCATION FOR THE SESSION? I’d loved to share some of my favorite places! Don’t feel like you are limited to my suggestions. Also, please keep in mind that when kids are involved, it’s best to stick to one setting, such as a park or playground. Pick a place where they are comfortable being themselves.

  4. HOW CAN WE BEST PREPARE FOR THE SESSION? Get yourself and your family excited about the session. Whether you go all out on a styled shoot or purchase new outfits for everyone. It’s great when you can involve the entire family.

  5. WHEN IS PAYMENT DUE? $50 of the total cost is due at booking and the balance is due on the week prior to the photography session.

  6. I SEE A LOT OF IDEAS ON PINTEREST, CAN WE SUGGEST IDEAS FOR PHOTOS? I have a variety of samples on my Pinterest Boards. During the pre-consultation, I will discuss your vision and my experience. If there is an image from Pinterest that you love, bring it in and we’ll look at it together.

  7. IS THERE A TIME THAT IS BETTER THAN OTHERS FOR OUTDOOR PHOTO SESSIONS? The best time for an outdoor photo session is either early in the morning or right around sunset. I’ve found that the best light is usually 15-20 minutes before sunset and 15-20 minutes after. You can visit to get an accurate time for sunset on your scheduled photo session day and then back up approx. 1 hour to 1.5 hours from that time for start time. You want to make sure to factor in extra time just in case you happen to be running late, want to change outfits during the session, etc…

  8. WHAT IS INCLUDED IN A SESSION? All sessions include travel to the location, my services during the shoot and basic editing of the images. A set number of images are provided upon completion based on the duration of session. For example, with an hour session you will usually receive a min. 35-40 images. High-resolution images with reprint permission are included in some of my most popular packages.

  9. WHAT TYPE OF PAYMENT DO YOU ACCEPT? I accept checks, Venmo and cash.

  10. HOW LONG AFTER THE SESSION UNTIL I SEE MY PHOTOS? Turnaround for photos is approx. 1-2 weeks. I will usually post a few sneak peak images to social media within 24-48 hours of photographing the session, so make sure you are connected!

Closing

I am excited to get to know you and your family. If you love colorful, vibrant, authentic images utilizing play and connection, then I am the girl for you!


What People Are Saying


"Jenny is a wonderful photographer! She was great to work with. Our session was fun and relaxed and our pictures reflected the happiness and natural smiles of everyone in them. I will be recommending her to all my friends in the area."

ARIELLE ROBINETTE, CLOVIS CALIFORNIA



Ready To Set Up Your Session?

So, now you're ready to set up your session. How do you get a hold of me? Visit my "Contact Me" page.


For more information regarding your portrait package options, please visit my "Investment" page.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page